To my sweet girl- you are Seven.

18 Nov

SONY DSC

G,
I can’t believe you are seven. And I am well aware that I say this every year. I remember the day that you were born like it was yesterday. You were here. My heart grew that day. And it grows each day that I am blessed to be on this earth with you.
Like many things in life I planned certain pieces to the tee (which typically don’t go that way) and I just went with most of it. So I really have no room for frustration when you live your life in the same capacity.
Each day you are evolving. First grade is treating you well with all the scholastic elements coming together into the wealth of knowledge that you possess (Mom, I just used my schema….um ok.). Structured learning is something you are very good at, but you excel in areas that have no grade and can’t be put into a box for grading. Just the other day, I got an email (in response to a logistical question for room parent stuff) from your counselor:
Hi Mrs. Talamantez,

I have seen you coming and going in the office but have not had a chance to just say Hi and tell you how much we love Gia!
She is a doll. I love going to her class for guidance or to drop stuff off, or say hi to the kiddos…. Gia always has something fun to share 

You are one blessed Momma!

Have a great weekend,

And this is not a one case incident. You have teachers that follow your life, invite you to their children’s events, come visit you in far away places. You have doctors that focus on tummies and visit after ear surgery. You have camp counselors that ask about you.

You are magical.

You are captivating.

You are overwhelmingly awesome.

And I get to see every step. The ups and the downs. That tongue and heart that bring so much joy to the world can be equally as sharp and pointed at times. We are working together to hone this skill and be the best people we can be.

How many seven year olds are that self-aware? Not many.

I am so proud to be your mother. I am so proud when you come home to tell me that one little girl (that you so wish would be your friend) said something mean to another little girl (who is one of your genuine friends) and you just had to tell the mean girl that it is not appropriate to make others feel bad about themselves because we all have good and bad.

I am proud. I am blessed. I am the one that got the best gift.

From the moment I found out about you I had no idea why I was handed you. And I still don’t. Every day I know I am experiencing greatness unfold. From the moments that make me cry tears of joy to the moments that make me scream in frustration you are a force.

A force that will change the world. Thank you Gia. Thank you for taking me on the ride. And loving me for all of my good and all of my bad.

I can’t wait to see who you become. I know from experience that every day you somehow become more spectacular.

Happy birthday my sweet girl. Happy Birthday.

Love, Mommy

Leave a Reply

