Owning it.

8 May

Taking_responsibility

 

This morning I was doing my daily “me time” and read this:

“Instead of letting our kids live in the realm of excuses we need to help them deal with their tendencies and move on.” –iMom.com

And it just resonated with me so much.  I do indeed have a spunky, creative, out-of-the-box child.  And she is my heart.  She and her (very in the box) brother fill me with so much joy.  It is these unique attributes that make them well, them.  And for that I am so thankful.

But there are societal norms that we have to adhere to in order to function.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not suggesting that we squash our children’s unique attributes.  I go above and beyond to foster them.  I do not want my children to conform.  But too often I find we allow those so-called idiosyncratic behaviors to be excuses to not do what you need to do.

In order to be successful, you have to do the work.

In order to be respected, you have to do the work.

In order to be wealthy, you have to do the work.

In order to lose weight, you have to do the work.

In order to make a cake, you have to do the work.

In order to have a clean home, you have to do the work.  Oh wait, you can hire that.  And I firmly believe that I have been affirming since I was six years old that someone will take care of the dirty work for me.  Waiting on the universe to place that in my lap.

…I’m still waiting, but doing the work in the meantime.

In order to be forgiven, you have to do the work.

One of my personal motto’s is “Own your shit.”  Because once you own it you can move forward.  If you never own it you become stagnant.  Or even worse you digress.

I am about to head into a teacher conference.  Which I frankly have no idea what it is about.  But my goal is to be open and receptive to whatever information that I receive and the strength to own my piece of responsibility for Gia and even more difficult as a mom force Gia to own her part in the equation.  Owning her part makes my life easier.  Until I want her to go out and be self sufficient.

I remember being told over and over- “This is harder on me than it is on you.”

The truth to those words is startling.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

