I love politics. Election 2012.

7 Nov

And I am watching this election like the rest of the world. Awaiting the answer. Like so many Americans, (though I apparently don’t know any of them) I will not be super happy regardless of the outcome of the election. And this gives me a heavy heart.

For a long time I was a die hard Republican. Then a raging liberal. And now, I sit somewhere in between. And completely unrepresented.

Not sure how many people know, but I have a degree in politics. I love it. The process. The democracy. The checks. The balances. The rights. The passion. The freedom. LOVE IT.

That said, I feel totally alone and on an island from my acquaintances, friends, relatives, etc. I just don’t understand the hate and venom that is spewed from both sides. And I don’t understand how both sides think anything will be accomplished by fronting a bi- partisan view while really never budging on an issue.

So here I stand. Listening to words that I would never want to hear come from the mouth of out of the brain of someone I love and care from- from both sides and feeling disappointed. Not because someone won and someone didn’t but because my friends, you are better than the awful words you shout from behind your status updates.

And we all deserve real policies that bring good. And that involves movement and negotiation.

Which my five year old will tell you- takes dialogue, understanding and ability to compromise on both sides. Maybe she should run for President. I will let her master raising her hand on the learning rug first.

Here’s to America.

3 Responses to “I love politics. Election 2012.”

  1. jenbshaw November 7, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    I may lean a little more left than you (maybe not, I don’t know). The opinions I voice the loudest are certainly left leaning but I really feel like I’m out there in the middle too. I’m happy with the results (projected of course) from tonight but I’m warily happy. There is much work to be done to get back on track.

    I’ve certainly been guilty before of spouting a little hate but it’s something I’m working on as I understand that hate and anger gets us exactly nowhere.

    • bullandchina November 7, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

      It is interesting because I am actually not very moderate. I am a hard swing right and a hard swing left. And a little fist bumping never hurt a soul. But the nasty, harsh….Gia would be grounded for life with soap in her mouth is what kills me. I just hope Facebook is what provides the facade and it is not real. Otherwise there are quite a few of my “friends” that scare me.

  2. Tonia November 7, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    I agree with you 100%. You know I’m a loser and not on facebook, but I think that’s a good thing. Otherwise, I’d have to not only hear everything on TV but from my friends as well. There is so much hatred when it comes to elections. I’m sort of like you. On certain issues I’m all the way right and others I’m all the way left. We need a new party of straight down the middle. Or maybe we don’t need parties anymore at all. What if we all just work together to figure everything out. I’d vote for that.

Leave a Reply

