The Pete the Cat Door.

4 Oct

Do you know who Pete The Cat is? If you don’t, check him out here.

Pete the Cat is a big deal at Gia’s school. Like, the biggest.

And given that I want to be that mom I am trying to volunteer at Gia’s school. So the night before I was supposed to volunteer at her school I get this note from her teacher:

“We are going to be called “Pete’s Cats” for the big BOOSTERTHON RACE (more info to come)…I need to decorate my classroom door like the attached picture. That is one big item that I need to check off of the list before Friday. The other items are: copy, laminate, cut out prepare guided reading folders and office type of things.”

To which I wanted to respond, “Have you met Gia!? She is MY kid. You know that zest? That spunk? That attention span? That big idea thinking? She gets that from me. Along with her complete lack of attention to detail and ability to use scissors.”

But of course, I didn’t. I simply said, “Sure! I would love to! What time should I be there?”

Now here’s the thing. If you know me in real life I stink with a capital S at these types of things. Now if you know me in my adult life you are probably thinking that I always have this kind of junk. Two things- it probably looks like crap up close or I bought it on Etsy. For reals.

Y’all, I wasn’t allowed to cut in Girl Scouts. EVER. Scissors taken away from me.

So when I arrived at Gia’s school today, my palms were sweating, I was shaking (possibly the result of too much coffee), and felt like I was about to take a multiple choice accounting exam. The other volunteering moms are decked out in Lululemon talking about things and making other beautiful things. So I meekly get the giant roll of butcher paper and walk back to the Kindergarten pod.

Gia’s teacher sticks her head out the door and points to a bucket with a pencil, sciccors and tape. And closes the door. Holy crap. I might throw up.

How the hell am I going to do this? Seriously, it is going to be a reflection on me. My kid is going to flunk Kindergarten because I royally dis-formed Pete the Cat. This is so much pressure.

So I open the picture on my phone. And start doing stuff. The kids go to music (Gia gives me a hug) and her teacher mouths to me as she walks down the hall, “I know it is going to be great.”

I am shaking more now. My hands are dripping.

And two hours later, this is what I had:

I may have been dancing a jig and high fiving my self out of that elementary school. I did it. And every time Gia goes in her class through the Pete the Cat door she knows her mom did it.

Just don’t get too close. I didn’t buy it on Etsy and it is a total Monet.

4 Responses to “The Pete the Cat Door.”

  1. amy weyer October 5, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    There are soooo MANY things I LOVE about this story!!! It truely had me in tears 🙂 It really makes me want to see you right now!!! You are a rock star mom (regardless of your scissor abilities). Way to go on overcoming your crafty fears 🙂 Love you! ~Amy Weyer

    • bullandchina October 5, 2012 at 3:39 am #

      Love you Amy! I got your call today and will call you in the morning. MUAH!

  2. Tonia October 5, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    That looks awesome! I can’t tell at all that you have a scissor handicap. 🙂 You are way more crafty than I am. I bet Gia tells everyone all day long that her mom made their Pete the Cat door.

    • bullandchina October 5, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      Hahaha. Tonia my scissor handicap/phobia is long and real. Oy. And yes, her teacher may never ask me to do anything again because Gia won’t stop talking about it. Ha!

Leave a Reply

