Right of passage.

14 Jul

Gia has a friend at school with very curly hair. Gia actually began by referring to Kaitlyn’s hair as frizzy and I quickly corrected her that no one has frizzy hair just beautiful curls. (For those of you that don’t know I had uber corkscrew curly hair from puberty. It has sense relaxed a little bit post pregnancy. So I will always defend curly girls.)

As life would have it my little darling with the sleek, smooth, straight hair that I have spent my life yearning for is now yearning for curls. We went to Ulta today to pick up a few necessities and Gia was scouring the isles for a “product that makes it all curly and stuff”. So I provided the only solution I could think of: sponge rollers.

She couldn’t stop talking about them. All through dinner. Excited to get in the bathtub and get out. Ready for rollers. Excited for pink. Dreaming of cascading curls. So we half dried her hair and separated it into sections. I think they may be a little big (1 1/4 inch size) for her fine, sweet hair but we shall see. She was just thrilled with the entire process.

She is currently sleeping in my bed. We had to take two out as soon as she got into bed because she was unable to lay down. I super hope that it is just the way she wants it in the morning.

Oh, why does the hair thing start so young?

8 Responses to “Right of passage.”

  1. Tonia July 14, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    That is too funny. My mom always made me sleep in those sponge rollers Saturday night so I could have curly hair for church. I hated it. Ha ha ha. I could never sleep in them.

    I hope she liked her hair in the morning.

    • Allison July 19, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      I need some help…because it completely did not turn out…at all. And she still is desperate for curls!

  2. Hillary Starnes July 14, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Think we all wish for the hair we don’t have! Can’t wait to see what she looks like!

    • bullandchina July 20, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      Hillary, it was a mess. We are going to try something else though! Hope all is well!

      • Hillary Starnes July 20, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

        I have that wonderful straight hair, the only thing that every would slightly get a curl in my hair was the steam rollers and a set by Conair that was called Lock and Roll.

  3. Amy Weyer July 15, 2011 at 3:48 am #

    This is absolutly the BEST story I have heard today!!! To top it all off, my daughter has beautiful curls that she is VERY proud of, yet my best friend in Jr. High had beautiful curls that she HATED and scared me to death to have a daughter with curly hair! In Jr. High and elementary I would use sponge roller or hot rollers….whatever it took to get beautiful curls. How is it that our children have the others hair….maybe it’s God’s way to keep us thinking of each other in our busy schedules! Rarely does a day go by that I don’t think of you while I am trying to “organize” my daughters curls! Love you & Miss you dearly! ~Amy Weyer

    • bullandchina July 20, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

      Ah, Amy…thanks! Miss you! How are you? So happy Samantha has such beautiful hair…..and that you know how to work it!

  4. Jane July 15, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    I remember my mom rolling our hair back in the day too, for church, for dance recitals, for school pics, etc. πŸ™‚ we had sponge rollers, and those long twisty things that were popular (I’ve gone blank on what they were called but they were long, rubber coated metal bendy things that you put in a pouch, plugged it in, they got warm, then you roll your hair and twist them to get them to stay in, then take them out). Ah, Gia πŸ™‚ how exciting for you, little lady! And Allison, I loved your curly hair in college πŸ˜€ I got a perm in 6th grade along with my younger sister…it didn’t last very long for me, but hers did…I was so envious. Everyone in my family, even my little brother, has naturally curly hair but me…guess we all always want what we don’t have πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

